Facebook shows to its users how much they know about it, and brings the “delete history” button.
Facebook is watching you and thanks to a new feature recently introduced it is now possible to see how the social network tracks your activity.
The social network Facebook launched this Tuesday “Off-Facebook Activity“. With this tool users can view a list of websites, apps, and physical stores that Facebook knows you’ve visited. The new tool is an old promise by Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg who swore in 2018 that he would build a tool for Facebook users where they can clear this story.
At that time the social network Facebook was in the midst of a scandal like that of Cambridge Analytica. The tracker shows where Facebook has been getting information about you in the last 180 days. It receives information from third-party advertising partnerships that voluntarily disclose the identities of the persons they visit.
This is being described by the social network as a new way of “giving more control” to users’ privacy. Users were also offered the “delete history” button.
“As of today, the ‘Off-Facebook Activity’ link is available to people on Facebook worldwide. Other businesses send us information about your activity on their sites and we use this information to show you ads that are related to you. You can now see a summary of this information and delete it from your account if you like,” he wrote.
With the new feature, Facebook has provided nearly to two billion users access to a list of websites and apps that share information with the social network. Users can then download the list and forward the list of information. This enables users to understand how Facebook and other companies target them.
How to access “Off-Facebook Activity” new feature?
Follow the steps below:
- Go to Facebook Settings and select “Your Facebook Information”
- Under “Your Facebook Information,” select “Off-Facebook Activity.”
- You can access this information simply by clicking on this link directly.
- A banner with some websites and apps that Facebook knows you’ve used will appear.
- Click on one of the icons to see the full list of activities.
- In this list a “Clear History” button will appear where you can delete the information stored by Facebook for 180 days.
- In our case 184 apps have shared browsing history with Facebook.